//
you're reading...
Food

Lentil Stew with Ginger Yogurt – MY WAY

I posted this photo on my instagram this week and got a bunch of requests for the recipe so I thought I’d post it here! I used to make this for dinner all the time, but then we ate it a little too often so it fell off of our recipe radar for a while. The other day I was looking through my bookmarks in search of something easy to make and came across it again.

I initially found this recipe via the epicurious ipad app. It’s from Bon Appetit magazine in a 2002 issue or something and here it is if you’d like to use it. I, however have made a few modifications as I find it to be a little on the “bleh” side as it is.  This latest incarnation is probably the best version I’ve made so I’m happy to have it saved here! It also tastes even more amazing re-heated for lunch the next day.

This is how I made it…MY WAY…. (enjoy the mood music)

My recipe below:

Curried Lentil Stew with Ginger Yogurt
Curried Lentil Stew with Ginger Yogurt
(From epicurious/Bon Appetit magazine 2002, but with modifications by me)

1 tbsp or so olive oil
1 onion, chopped
4 garlic cloves (or more! I love garlic), finely chopped
1 & 1/2 tablespoons garam masala (or curry powder if that’s what you have on hand)
Pinch of salt (to taste)
2 & 1/2 -3 cups vegetable broth (eyeball it – depends on how runny/soupy you like it)
I can of lentils
1 & 1/4 cups canned diced tomatoes – i gave mine a brief whiz in the mini chopper this time as well to break up the larger chunks.
1/2 can of coconut milk (once again, eyeball it – you can use more or less depending on your taste)
Whatever vegetables you have on hand. In the above photo I used 3 big handfuls of raw spinach, about a cup of zucchini and some sliced mushrooms.
Cilantro for garnish

Topping:
1 1/2 cups plain yogurt (I like to use FF greek yogurt the best but regular plain is fine too. If you want this to be vegan, leave this out or use a suitable vegan substitution).
Fresh ginger, grated, to taste (see pro tip).
PRO TIP: Always put your fresh ginger root in the freezer! Then when you need it for something, simply take it out and grate it with a microplane/zester (one of my fav kitchen thingies ever) or a cheese grater with small holes.

Sautee your onions in the olive oil in a big pot for about 5 mins or so. Add in your garlic and then the garam masala/curry powder and the pinch of salt. Next throw in your veggie broth, the canned lentils, and your diced tomatoes. Bring to a boil, then reduce and let simmer until some of the liquid has been absorbed. Add in your zucchini and mushrooms, and then swirl in the coconut milk. Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary. When you are almost ready to serve it, add in your fresh spinach and let it wilt.
Just before plating, stir the grated ginger into your plain yogurt. Plate your stew and top with the yogurt and some fresh cilantro.  Put the leftover ginger yogurt on the table so people can serve themselves – this stew can be spicy depending on your garam masala and the yogurt goes a long way to cool things down!

About corinacorona

Video maker, social media enthusiast, content maker, etc. Tattooed travel lover, runner, horror junkie, amateur foodie. Born in the wrong era. https://corinacorona.wordpress.com/

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

