//
you're reading...
Food, Life

Salad. Yup, I said Salad.

I have been absolutely terrible at updating this blog and I feel super guilty! I’ve started a new job so things are a little nuts for me what with my new commute, and the learning curve at work. I’m still doing social media/web stuff but in an entirely new industry so sometimes I am all: “Whaaaa?! I NO UNDERSTAND” haha. So far I am really enjoying it though. The company is great, really laid back and friendly and exciting, the people are really nice and I’m feeling challenged which is a good thing! BUT this blog is personal and has nothing to do with work so that’s all I am going to say about that! 🙂

In the meantime, here’s little lunch post to ease my guilty, non-blog-updating conscience.

My old office was down on the waterfront – basically in the middle of nowhere so our lunch choices were rather limited. My new office is uptown and close to a billion amazing lunch spots. This is KILLING my wallet! I’ve managed to get myself back to bringing lunch at least 4 days a week but it is HARD with such delicious options near by! Thus, I’ve been poking around the ol’ internets for some lunchspiration. Recently I re-discovered a blog I used to follow SherylYvette.com and while browsing for recipes on her site I came across her Super Salad recipe.  I knew I had some of that stuff in the fridge so yesterday I threw together my own variation…it was delish. Here is photo evidence:

 

Bowl of salad

This salad is so good I heard angels singing when I opened the container.

Now obviously you don’t really need a recipe for salad so I’ll just tell you what was in mine (in the above picture). I packed it for lunch so it had to be layered into the bowl in a specific order so it wouldn’t get all soggy and gross before I had the chance to eat it.  Here’s what I had in there, in order from the bottom to top of the container:

  • chickpeas (about 3/4 cup)
  • diced apple (1/4 cup)
  • diced radishes (2)
  • diced cucumber (1/4 cup approx)
  • diced red bell pepper (1/4 cup)
  • snow peas in pods, sliced in half (handful)
  • chopped romaine lettice (1 cup)
  • mixed baby kale(1/2 cup)
  • diced avocado (1/4)
  • onion sprouts

The key is the salad dressing which I blatantly stole from SherylYvette’s entry here and it is delicious: 1 tsp sesame oil, 2 tbsp lemon juice, 2 tbsp of rice vinegar, and a pinch of salt. I put mine in a ziplock baggie and laid it across the top of the salad before putting the lid on the container. Then at lunch i dump it on, replace lid, shake it all up, commence eating.

So yeah, just salad! Nothing too exciting today but hey, it’s an update, right?

 

About corinacorona

Video maker, social media enthusiast, content maker, etc. Tattooed travel lover, runner, horror junkie, amateur foodie. Born in the wrong era. https://corinacorona.wordpress.com/

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

