//
you're reading...
Food, Music

Pumpkin Butter (Just keep on stirring)

Like everyone else in the universe, I’m all over El Camino by The Black Keys right now. I got to meet them at work about two weeks ago when I filmed a live interview segment. After 6 years in the music industry I don’t get star struck often anymore but this time I was pretty “Duhhh…I like turtles”. I even got a picture of myself with them….might as well take advantage of these opportunities when I can, right?!

Here’s a little mood music to go with this entry. I really wanted to post “Gold On The Ceiling” but after a few futile searches I gave up trying to find a version that won’t be ripped down off YouTube within the next few hours. Instead I’ll go legit and post “Lonely Boy”, well on it’s way to being over played but still a great song. Plus, this guy has some sweet dance moves:

A few weeks ago a friend of mine went to NYC and came back with a jar of Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Butter. She quickly became obsessed with it and once I tried a sample myself, I couldn’t deny that it was pretty amazing. Unfortunately we do not have Trader Joe’s here in Canada. So I did what any Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter loving Canadian would do – I googled a recipe and made it myself!

pumpkin butter

Pumpkin Butter in a jar!

I loosely followed Smitten Kitchen’s Pumpkin Butter Recipe which I will re-post below. I ended up adding a bit more apple juice than called for (maybe 1 and 1/4 cups in total) because my mixture didn’t “boil”. It kinda made glurping sounds like volcano lava and I was a bit concerned…but I just kept on stirring and everything turned out great!:

Pumpkin Butter
Via Smitten Kitchen, who adapted it from AllRecipes
1 (29 ounce) can pumpkin puree, approx. 3 1/2 cups
3/4 cup apple juice – note: i used about 1 & 1/4 cups..so it came out a bit more “apple-y” but the star of the show was still the pumpkin
2 teaspoons ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1 1/3 cups brown sugar
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
Juice of half a lemon

Combine pumpkin, apple juice, spices, and sugar in a large saucepan; stir well. Bring mixture to a boil. Note: As I mentioned above, mine didn’t really boil so much as it did burp and glomp like a volcano ready to erupt, or some mud in a swamp. If yours does this be cool, keep stirring and everything will be ok

Reduce heat, and simmer until thickened. I pretty much stirred continuously and watched the pumpkin lava make blobby splat noises in the pot. Stir lots so it doesn’t burn. Stir in lemon juice, or more to taste. Cool and keep in an air tight container in the fridge!

mmmm...breakfast-y

This tastes good on pretty much anything (even a slab of cardboard I’d wager!). The first time I tried it I did a kind of modified (read: ghetto) take on Smitten Kitchen’s granola and just thew some walnuts and a chopped up fig on a bowl swirled with greek yogurt and pumpkin butter. Verdict: YUM.

Everything swirled together. Tasted better than it looks I assure you!

I am thinking this might become a part of my home made Christmas gifts this year – it was super easy to make and honestly delicious!

About corinacorona

Video maker, social media enthusiast, content maker, etc. Tattooed travel lover, runner, horror junkie, amateur foodie. Born in the wrong era. https://corinacorona.wordpress.com/

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Butter (Just keep on stirring)

  1. I loveee TJ’s! I don’t know what I’d do if I lived in Canada without it 😛 The cranberry apple butter is just as fabulous as the pumpkin butter!

    Posted by Life's a Bowl | December 8, 2011, 4:24 pm

Leave a Reply

