//
you're reading...
Food

Burger n’ Fries – Island Style!

Last night was Mister’s school night so I was on my own for dinner.

On the weekend I ran my first ever 30K run as part of the Midsummer Night’s Run series and to be honest I was still tired last night. So I skipped my usual Tuesday night run in order to cook something decent for dinner.

Inspired by a friend’s Instagram picture of his dinner last week, I put together a Jerk Turkey and Brown rice burger with some roasted spiced potatoes.

Burger and fries - island style

The burgers were basically a mish mash of what I thought would taste good + what I had in the fridge.

I had some leftover brown rice from Monday night’s dinner so I used that as a binding ingredient in the burgers in place of breadcrumbs. Worked pretty well too!  I also threw in some jerk spice (about 2 tbsp and a bit), some pacific smoked salt I had (1/2 tsp or so), some minced garlic scapes from the farmer’s market (1 tbsp or so), some mixed baby green herbs also from the farmers market (in place of parsley – about 3/4 cup), and about 1 1/2 tbsp of worcestershire sauce. I also added a tiny drizzle of olive oil just to hold the burgers together a little better because I can’t use eggs in my burgers (Mister cannot eat eggs). This made 7 burgers.

Burger topped with hot peppers and peaches

I was too tired to think about using and then cleaning off the George Forman grill so I cooked the burgers up in a skillet.  I topped them with some sliced, pickled jalapenos and then I thought something like mango would be nice as well but we didn’t have any. We did have some fresh Ontario summer peaches though so I tried that and it worked out nicely. A good mix of spicy and sweet!

The bun I used is a toasted whole wheat english muffin. I generally hate hamburger buns because I feel like they are always way too big and take away from the burger itself. Over the years I’ve found that a toasted english muffin is perfect for burgers.

Ready to eat!

I had two potatoes in my cupboard that were starting to sprout eyes so I chopped them up and tossed with a little olive oil, rosemary, thyme, coriander and smoked pacific sea salt. Roasted in the oven for a little while, they were an ideal side. I’d make this again!

Once of these days I’ll get a decent camera and stop using my iPhone to take food pictures…

About corinacorona

Video maker, social media enthusiast, content maker, etc. Tattooed travel lover, runner, horror junkie, amateur foodie. Born in the wrong era. https://corinacorona.wordpress.com/

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

